Hustler Turf Logo

The Legendary Hustler® Raptor® SD

Makes Small Work Out Of Big Jobs

Raptor<sup>®</sup> SD

The Raptor® SD is a residential zero-turn perfect for bigger yards. It features deep, heavy-duty welded-steel decks up to 60” in size and large 20” drive tires for a smooth ride across various turf conditions and rugged terrain.

Highlights

  • 36”, 42”, 48”, 54” or 60” heavy-duty, welded steel decks
  • Heavy-duty fabricated frame
  • Exclusive SmoothTrak™ steering
  • Patented automatic park brake
  • Adjustable premium seat with armrests
  • 13” front and 20” drive tires
  • Powerful engine options
  • Hour meter and engine guard standard

Features

Warranty

The Raptor® SD has the best warranty in its class in the industry.

Hustler® mowers are built to the highest of standards, but our unmatched warranties provide extra peace of mind. See your local Hustler® dealer for complete details.


Specs

Choose Raptor® SD Model
Zero-Turn Configuration

Attachments

Financing

Check out great financing options from Hustler®

It's never been easier to own a Hustler® Turf product than with the following retail financing plans through participating U.S. dealers. Contact your local Hustler® Turf dealer for details.

See All Financing Options

*Certain restrictions apply. See your dealer for complete details.

Raptor® SD Reviews

Raptor SD is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 162.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Mower This is the first Zero Turn mower that I have purchased. Took a little while to get use to mowing around trees, etc....But practice makes perfect and have had no accidents. Cuts my mowing time in half compared to a regular riding mower. Great machine and no maintenance issues.
Date published: 2017-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mows well This mower does a fine job of mowing. It would have earned an excellent rating had it not been for two issues. First, the mower deck clogs with grass clippings and needs to be cleaned after each and every use. Second, maintenance done on the mower is much more difficult than it needs to be. I have changed the hydraulic oil and changed the drive belt and both jobs were made complicated by the fact that you need to do many small jobs just to get to the job you are attempting. Some simple engineering could make maintenance a breeze but that is not the case.
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Slightly Disappointed I have over 10 years of experience as a mechanic & mower on a golf course, so I have experience with multiple brands of mowing equipment. I picked the Raptor SD as a step from the average riding lawn mower. This is my personal mower, I mow a acre of property 40 times a year, this is the end of my second year. Pros: engine power, mowing quality, ease of handling, strong frame, ease of height adjustment. Cons: control handles need frequent readjustment to drive straight, paint quality, deck hard to clean, tires slip with minor resistance i.e. slightly wet, tall growth. Lastly I also purchased the bagging system. Chute plugs easily, holding straps don't keep lower chute tight to the deck. The connection of the 2 chute pieces drops if the ground is the least bit rough. The bag material isn't holding up very well for the amount of time I have had it.
Date published: 2017-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Machine! Bought a 2016 RSD 54 with Engine Guard, Stripe Kit and high lift blades. Excellent Mower for larger Residential mowing. I have 2 acres, with some slopes, Large trees and gardens this machine offers great value, excellent performance and is built tough! 100 hours on it and no issues.
Date published: 2018-03-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quality control issues Bought in April 2016,within a month hydraulic reservoir was empty, but no sign of leaking on garage floor. I'm just glad I purchased it from warner sales in Rome ny because they came to the house and picked up the mower and left me a mower to use while repairing mine, you won't get that kind of service from Lowes.Problem was a loose hydraulic clamp that was discovered at the factory but NOT repaired . How can a company inspect a product and document it as defective and still ship it? within 2 months the crankshaft seal failed. Once again warners came through with great customer service. If I didn't get the service that Warners Sales provides this would probably be a 2 star review. Hustler co. For some reason thinks I bought this mower at Lowes. No way I would buy something like this from Lowes when they can't handle the service end of it.
Date published: 2017-11-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Happy with mower Blades furnished with machine did not eject grass very well and it would jam up, sometimes stalling the engine. Had to buy Hi-Lift blades to solve problem, should have been furnished with them to begin with. Not at all happy with control of mower, it "snakes" and is extremely difficult to keep straight. Must continually fight controls to keep it straight. Sent machine back to Dealer and they said it was "normal". I never had this problem with other brands that I previously owned. I'LL never own another Hustler.
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Junk raptor sd 54 I brought a Raptor SD just over 3 years ago. It has never mowed well. Sometimes I have to drive over the same weed 3 times to get it to cut. The deck belt has broken twice. The deck paint is coming off and now 14 days after the warranty is up the rear end bracket breaks and the mower is sitting on the ground. It has less than 100 hours on it. I would never buy another. Check out the web plenty of issues with these mowers.
Date published: 2018-05-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Won't own another one My hustler sd 54 has had steering issues from day one and even after taking in to the dealer it's still not right. It's not even a year old and the paint is peeling off. The grass clippings constantly clog underneath and I have to stop and clean it out before I can keep mowing. Doing any kind of service work yourself is not an easy process at all. I was very happy with this mower AT FIRST simply because it was the first zero turn mower I have had so anything was an upgrade over what I had. However, over time it has shown its warts.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good mower for the price! I purchased the Hustler raptor SD 54in. I had a few small problems after I purchased it which were handled promptly by the dealer. Only regret I have is choosing the 54in over the 60in.
Date published: 2017-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Raptor SD Long-Term Review Had the raptor sd 54" for 3 years now and I give it 4 stars. It has decreased my cutting time significantly over the JD lawn tractor I used previously. My only complaint is the dealer-installed mulching system and the way it spews clippings out the front of the deck covering my legs in dust every time. The underside of the deck has to be pressure washed every month because of the buildup of caked on grass. I have also had to replace the left plastic fender twice for cracking near the attachment screws. Third fender is now cracked but mower is out of warranty.
Date published: 2018-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid Machine I have 2 Raptor SD 54's one for the house (1 acre) and 1 for the farm (8 acres) They were bought is 2015. The have held up extremely well.(Approx 400 hrs each) I added stripping kits and grass flappers. They leave a very nice stripe with this attachment. So much so that the neighbors are now paying my 2 HS age boys to cut, trim and blow their lawns. They now do 20 lawns in the development and turned it into a nice little business for them. The guys at Kuhn Turf are the best as well. They treat you like family. Their little neighborhood business has grown to the point will likely upgrade to the XOne this year.
Date published: 2018-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good mower for the money I bought the mower last summer in 2016 and price was a big selling point. Great for home use with a smooth lawn. With no suspension the ride is very rough if your going over any bumpy surfaces. The deck height adjuster pin will Also come out on bumpy surfaces causing you to scalp so I suggest getting a cotter pin to hold it in place. Overall am very pleased with the reliability and the mower overall.
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Raptor xd 60" We bought this mower this spring to cut down our mowing time. It used to take my wife and I 2 1/2 hours to mow with a 38" zero turn and a 48" tractor. With just the hustler I can get it done in an hour and twenty minutes myself! Needless to say I have sold the other mowers! Great mower and VERY WELL BUILT! We also have some side hills and we love the fact that you sit low on the mower. My wife feels very safe on the side hills with the hustler.
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Commercial grade mower at a residential price Bought the Raptor SD 54” with the Kawasaki, very powerful engine and clean cut. Pros: -very affordable -quality craftsmanship -easy to operate -Warranty Cons: -Had some trouble when cutting slightly damp or taller grass, as the grass exiting gap is not wide enough and as a result, grass continues to clog up. -tires slip on slightly angled ditches, nothing too steep but it somewhat struggles to hold a grip. -the lack of a gas meter: it’s hard to tell when low on fuel, wishing there was some type of meter on the machine. Overall i am a very satisfied customer. I love the power of the Kawasaki along with the maneuverability of the SD, and considering it’s a residential mower, you couldn’t tell.
Date published: 2018-08-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty good mower It did well during it's first season, but my only major complaint is no traction in reverse. Minor complaint: I have to wiggle the left steering handle to get engine to start.
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for hills, tall grass, or wet grass. As the title says, this mower is not good on hills, tall grass, or wet grass. The chute clogs with wet grass and even when the grass is not wet, the chute comes close to clogging. Hills are a problem with this mower and I have never had problems with a normal lawn mower on our yard.
Date published: 2018-08-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Deck Plugs Disappointed in the deck. It plugs very easily if grass is damp or of any height. It took several trips to dealer and many calls to manufacturer to get it fixed to a usable state. A loaner was provided while it was being worked on. I have not seen this plugging problem on other models.
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Warranty Not Good I bought a Raptor SD 54" about 3 weeks ago. The only real problem I have with the mower is the steering. Hustler touts the precision steering as an attribute but to me it is too precise. Even though I am a veteran of ZTRs I find it difficult to mow along a fenceline and get close to the fence posts. The big problem I have is after reading the 3 year 300 hour warranty, It does not cover some parts that are most likely to fail if defective. The warranty excludes bearings. There are bearings in the deck spindles, deck idler sheaves, front wheels and spindles, drive belt idlers as well as multiple bearings in the two transaxles. This is not to say this is not a good mower, it just doesn't seem like Hustler is very proud of their product. I have never purchased a product like this that the warranty did not cover the bearings.
Date published: 2018-06-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mine I purchased mine about two years ago now. I like the speed of it. That's is a good thing that I must cut the lawn over and over to get all the uneven uncut grass I didn't get the first time. It has been sent in to have the issue's fixed. Which took a month one time then almost two month the second time. Will still not success fixing the issue. The repair shop wanted to fix other things and do maintenance. (With only less then 200 hours)
Date published: 2018-06-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Quality for hustler I have noting but problems with the 54in Sd. It has less than 200 hours on it. In that time I have had the left steering handle completely break off, both safety sensors have failed. And the cross brace that holds the two hydros together has snapped twice. It has been to three different authorized dealers to calibrate the steering and to this day has never mowed straight. I will never recommend this mower to anybody.
Date published: 2018-05-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good mower but many early hour issues Purchased my 52” Raptor SD after using my parents a few times. Mows well, quick & powerful but I’ve had the following issues in 70hrs - multiple loose/lost fasteners, failed front wheel bearing, update to hydro support, & now must have the frame repaired b/c there was a weld placed in the wrong position and has cracked. If it wasn’t for my dealer I’d probably persue a replacement mower.
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from why did I wait? Mowing my cabin acreage with a standard lawn tractor was taking 4 1/2 hrs every time plus the trimming, leaving me no time to relax. I researched all the major brands of zero turn mowers. None offered all the features and things I wanted like welded deck and commercial grade transmissions in the price range I was willing to pay EXCEPT Hustler so I bought the SDX. WOW is all I can saw my mowing time is 1hr and 20 minuets now and mowing is actually fun again. The SDX is well built and performs like a dream and best of all made in America.
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hate the automatic choke! I've had this mower two years. The automatic choke has already went out. Had to take it an hour and a half away, one way to the place I purchased it. A week later I find out the authorized repair facility was less than five miles from my house. They did send a set of forks for the front end, as an apology for my trouble, that are supposedly to help the suspension, they don't.
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor performance Just over a year of having it the left side bearing went out, the thing would not move. The gas gauge quit working. The service company had it for four months brought it back, first time I used it gas gauge still doesn't work although the gas tank had been replaced, still makes a loud noise, and now it is dead in a my yard as it will not startThink I was given a lemon.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice mower This is my second season with this raptor sd, only problem is the bar that goes across the discharge clogs up. have to put the shoot up so it doesn't clog other than that love this thing! My old mower no one would use, the z turn no one wants to let me cut grass anymore. I have 60" deck and the kawasaki perfect for cutting 2 acers in about 1 1/4 hrs.
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hustler Raptor SD My Hustler Raptor SD with the Kawasaki engine is without a doubt the finest mower I have ever owned, and I’ve owned plenty. The 60 inch deck cuts my mowing time in half. The owners at Small Engine Service Pro’s in New Carlisle, Ohio made me a great deal in September of 2015 and I’ve been a very pleased customer ever since. I love mowing with this machine so much I mow my neighbors yard too. He hasn’t mowed his yard in 2 years. Great mower! I’ll always have a Huster setting in my garage. Keep up the great work Hustler!
Date published: 2018-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Piece of junk Have had this mower for 3 years belts won’t stay on have replaced belts constantly. Have finally junked it.
Date published: 2018-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product The Raptor is a nice mower with great features. The quality is good. the only issue I have is with the paint quality. I had a piece of the frame replace because the paint lifted off the metal. This is now happening again with the mower deck. The paint is just pealing off in chunks. Other than that, it is a nice machine.
Date published: 2017-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love my Raptor Bought it about 2+ years ago. Love it. Takes half the time to mow my lawn and looks great when Im done. Had a steering problem and paint flaking off deck. Took it to dealer, fixed steering and replaced deck no charge under warranty. Only suggestion is a better way to change the oil.
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from grass eater Bought this 60" raptor SD last year. We cut 8 to 10 acres per week with normal rainfall. We have several brands of mowers that we use but this Hustler is a better all round mower. All I have done other than routine maintenance is adjust tracking. GREAT MOWER.
Date published: 2018-06-14
  • y_2018, m_8, d_17, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_162
  • loc_en_US, sid_RAPTORSD, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hustlerturf
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 11.72ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Customer Questions

Have a question about a Hustler Turf product that a Hustler owner can answer? Submit those questions via the "Ask an Owner” button below. Or, if your question is more technical-related, please send those to our Customer Service team. You can click here to submit a question directly to them.

I want to add a canopy to my hustler sd 54 but can't seem to find any info anywhere (it did not come with a ROPS). Suggestions? Also, I too am experiencing a problem with the grass clumping up under the mower. How the heck do you fix that?

Asked by: leondraw
Currently for the Raptor SD we do not have a canopy option. For grass clump ups, we suggest when you are mowing in thick, wet grass conditions that you raise the mower deck. If you have additional questions, please reach out to our contact us section at https://www.hustlerturf.com/contact.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2018-06-06

What size hose do i need to drain the oil from my 25hp Kohler engine?

Asked by: geads22
If you haven't already, check your owner's manual or reach out to your nearest Hustler dealer. You can find one at https://www.hustlerturf.com/find-a-retailer.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2018-06-18

Where can you buy the stripe kit at

Asked by: Sean O
Hi - You can visit your local Hustler dealer to purchase a stripe kit.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2018-07-05
  • y_2018, m_8, d_17, h_18CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_11
  • loc_en_US, sid_RAPTORSD, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hustlerturf
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 83.55ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Photos

Find a Retailer
Hustler Turf Brand

© 2018 Hustler® Turf Equipment. All Rights Reserved.  |  Privacy Policy