Hustler Turf Logo

The Dash®

Hustler® Ingenuity In A Small Yard Zero-Turn

Dash<sup>®</sup>

The Dash is Hustler Turf’s most compact residential mower designed to get the job done at a price you can afford. A smaller design makes it ideal for garage storage and fitting through tight spaces with ease. Ideal for yards that are ½ to ¾ acre in size.

Highlights

  • 34” or 42” welded fabricated steel deck
  • Heavy-duty welded 1 x 2 fully tubular frame
  • Patented automatic parking brake
  • Foot-operated deck lift
  • Compact size - ideal for garage storage
  • Easily fits thru most gates making backyard mowing easy

Features

Warranty

The Dash® has the best warranty in its class in the industry.

Hustler® mowers are built to the highest of standards, but our unmatched warranties provide extra peace of mind. See your local Hustler® dealer for complete details.


Specs

Choose Dash® Model
Zero-Turn Configuration

Attachments

Financing

Check out great financing options from Hustler®

It's never been easier to own a Hustler® Turf product than with the following retail financing plans through participating U.S. dealers. Contact your local Hustler® Turf dealer for details.

See All Financing Options

*Certain restrictions apply. See your dealer for complete details.

Dash® Reviews

Dash is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 22.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS SMALL UNIT!! Have had this mower for about a month. Handles beautifully with very responsive steering handles. The 10.5 hp engine is more than enough to move this mower around. All around servicing is pretty easy with most areas ( ie..belts and deck) are easily accessible. Only three factors preventing 5 stars are: the 34 inch could use a little more room for greater comfort of bigger guys, although the comfort is still pretty decent. The fuel tank could be larger even though the mower will go for a while on the 2.8qrt tank, and as would be expected, the smaller, lighter unit has a greater "tip" factor than the 48inch flip up I'm used to using at work. But, this smaller unit is great for residential use!!
Date published: 2019-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Price and Awesome Mower I brought this towards the end of February 2019, I have an 1 acre lot. Did my research and it fits in my 2 car garage with my car in front of it.... Cutting part was very easy,no problem with steering it..
Date published: 2019-03-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Buy a Exmark I purchased my Raptor SD 54" zero turn in 2013. From Caldwell equipment in MO. The tray that holds the battery has fell apart at the tabs. The right hydro gear unit has broke away from the frame and shredded the belt. the unit only has 137 hours on it. Also because of the deck design it gets clogged frequently when mowing field grass because it does not discharge and gets caught on the square deck design. I own a landscaping company and this mower has only been used to mow by me personally and my property. All of my other mowers are exmarks and get abused day in and out by my guys and I never have any problems with them. Spend the extra money by something that is made well. Buy an exmark!!!!
Date published: 2019-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New at ZTM’s, Enjoying! I was looking a small zero turn mower, but did not want a stamped-steel cheapie. I had tried a larger industrial grade and was kind of attached to the quality and feel. But it was too big and fast. Then, I found the Hustler Dash! All the ruggedness, but perfect for my smaller yards. Still getting the hang, but enjoying and highly recommend! Very well made mower and it fits in my garage!
Date published: 2019-05-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 45 minutes in I Bought a 42" Dash on 4/16/19. As soon as I finished cutting my yard, the mower died. I figured I had ran out of gas, and it was pretty low. I refilled the gas tank (new gas bought today) and then it wouldn't start. (deck was disengaged, and controls returned to park position) I called the dealer, they told me to let it sit until morning (15hrs) because it sounded like it flooded. I went out 3.5 hours and noticed a real strong gas smell and found that gas was leaking out the bottom of the carburetor and now it will not even crank when trying to start it. I have always had a good impression of Hustler, and I am very familiar with the Raptor series. But this setup with the Briggs & Stratton 10.5hp is far from impressive and borderline on being considered junk. The 10.5hp is more than enough power for this smaller mower, but I have never had any good impression of Briggs & Stratton.
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased I bought the 34" dash a few weeks ago. All smiles the first time I used it... I did take out a bush, but I have never used a zero turn, or any other riding mower, so the controls took a minute to get used to. It was easy to use, but I could have been stuck a bit if I didn't read the manual first. I live in Florida and have St. Augustine grass, a little over a 1/4 acre... small yard, but was tired of sweating to death in the FL heat. I should have made this purchase years ago... but was waiting for the mower that fit all my needs (needed a narrow mower due to landscaping and fences). This one certainly does. I installed the mulch kit, was easy to install and cuts well. Plenty of power to get the job done. Seems well built and sturdy. Fits well in my garage (takes up the same space as my push mower) I am very pleased and would certainly recommend. I researched mowers for weeks and I am happy it appears I made the right choice.
Date published: 2019-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big things come in small packages! I just recently purchased my Dash, I cant be more impressed with the performance and the fact it will go through a small gate and yet cut faster with less trimmer use than before. I had my doubts, but they are all in the past. It is one great of a zero turn!
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Commercial duty at a consumer price I'm thrilled with my 42" Dash! I originally was going with a 34", as my yard is really not that large (can mow in 1 hr. with push mower as I had been doing for 34 years). At the last minute, I decided on the 42" for the benefit of the 3" overhang of the mower deck beyond the wheelbase. So glad I did! I can't believe how close I can get and how well I can get under bushes. I had retained my push mower, assuming I would need to go around with that every time I mowed for the close work. Nothing could be further from the truth! The Dash is so maneuverable, I'm getting just as good around trees, posts, fence lines, etc., as my push mower. Got rid of the push mower and got a cordless string trimmer for the few inside corners I could not get. This thing is also MUCH better built than the other zero-turn consumer models I've seen. The deck is welded steel construction - much heavier duty than the other's decks. The oil drain/fill is brilliant. No tools or ramp needed to change oil. Gas usage was surprising... a lot more than my push mower, but I suppose that should have been no surprise as it's got 3X the HP, LOL. One suggestion - Knobbier rear tires. It tends to slip when trying to maneuver on a bank. It's also a lot of FUN to drive! I no longer dread mowing lawn so am mowing at a higher deck height, which is resulting in a beautiful green lawn. My lawn looks better than it has in over 30 years.
Date published: 2019-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Mower ! I bought a 34" model 2 months ago and I simply love this mower. It's agile, it's powerful, and it does a jam-up job. A lot of my mowing consists of meandering walking trails that range over our 5 acre lot. My favorite features are the 10 cutting heights and the manual deck lift. I can cut the centipede lawn down low and use higher positions for the woodland grasses. I've never had a mower with this much range of adjustment !
Date published: 2019-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Impressed I’ve mowed one time with this mower but I was skeptical with the 10.5 horse motor and the small tank. I have just less than half an acre that was grown up and it did a great job. And I was able to finish on 1 tank. Don’t hesitate if you have an interest. I bought from a local lawn service company for the future service instead of buying from Lowe’s. I did pay $150 more but would rather support local.
Date published: 2019-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Mower for entry level zero turn. I am a new owner. The mower does well on my lawn with mild hills and lawn grasses , no pasture here. So far the only complaint is that the mower is light and traction isn't as good as lawn tractor I previously owned. I was concerned about the Briggs 10.5 H.P. engine having enough power. It works well on this application. Did not expect Kawasaki or Honda engine on entry level mower.
Date published: 2019-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good mower, great dealer Bought the 42 inch DASH two days ago. Mowed 1/3 acre with it the next evening. Beautiful cut, all the power I need and hardly used any gas. Briggs engine is strong and the drive and ride are great. I’m 6’2” and 225 lbs and no issues with size of mower and power. If you’re on the fence about it buy it. Dealer was Kansas Golf and Turf. Good dealer!
Date published: 2019-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to operate and great size! I just mowed my 1/2 acre yard with my new 34" Dash and it fully met my expectations. I was a little concerned about the 10.5 hp motor, but it chewed through the grass where the sump pumped dumped with no problem. It went through my 48" gate without lifting the grass deflector Since its a new model, I hope it's as reliable as the Raptor is.
Date published: 2019-06-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from leaves streaks between the blades. I've mowed my lawn twice and each time it has left streaks.The first time it was fairly tall due to waiting for new dash w/42" mower.So the next time I actually mowed just before it needed to be.Same result! Very disappointed ! Mower has enough power but will not mow heavy grass cleanly.
Date published: 2019-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this mower! I am so pleased with this machine! I love it, it is perfect for my yard size and i couldnt be happier with it! I bought this from lowes online and am hoping that they start selling the attachments soon as well because they seem hard to find for this model.
Date published: 2019-06-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Junk Bought a raptor it has 20 hours and been in the shop for 5 weeks. Customer service is terrible and I wish I had bought something reliable. Save your money and dont buy this junk
Date published: 2019-08-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looking for a catcher I have a 34" dash and no one in my area that carries hustler cant find me a grass catcher, i need help in getting one please
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect ZTR or the small yard I'm fortunate that I live in a large Metropolitan area and have access to an abundance of the top brands to compare. I purchased the Dash after extensive research and comparing other brands that offer similiar sized machines. After considering frame construction, deck style, features, usability, engine size, price and reputation, the Hustler was the clear choice. I wanted a very small zero turn that fits in my garage and thru my gate. I have a small 1/4 acre yard and using a large zero turn would have been ridiculous. I considered a new rear engine rider or small lawn tractor until I discovered the Dash. However, the 10.5 hp motor was almost a deal breaker for me. I used to use a rear engine rider from another brand that featured a 9hp Kawasaki motor. That mower is over 20 years old and still cuts just fine. So, I can tell you this, you will not know you're being propelled by a 10.5 hp motor. It runs, climbs and cuts like a bigger machine. It's not as fast as the larger Raptor but it's as fast as a regular riding lawn tractor. Where it wins easily is that it turns so much quicker and gets back to cutting in a matter of a few seconds where a regular tractor would still be making a wide turn. I have had to hog thru some very high 8 inch tall Kentucky Bluegrass on occasion and it plows thru it. For someone with a small yard that needs a rear engine rider, there is now a game changer in the market. Thanks to this little Hustler, there is now a zero turn available for residential use. Design - A+ , it's a really a tiny version of a large commercial mower. It look very robust and easy to work on if the need arises. The frame - A+ all tube steel is in my opinion the finest on the market. Durable, stiff, resists flex and is on par with all the large commercial machines. Deck - A+ the best deck in the small market. Most larger machines aimed at residential use for larger yards over 1+ acre don't even have a welded steel fabricated deck. They almost all use a stamped steel deck. Those are fine but they aren't build like the one this Hustler has. This style of deck in this price range was what sealed the deal for me. Engine - B, only way to get an A here is to offer a larger twin at double the HP rating. Of course you'll easily see another $600 price hike which would put this mower out of reach in the residential marketplace for the size of this machine. The 10.5hp motor gets the job done. The speed of the mower, volume of the mower deck and weight are all sized appropriately for the 10.5hp motor to handle adequately. Price - A+, priced right at the bottom of the market for zero turns and slightly above the big box store cheapy lawn tractors. If you are considering one of those in the $1700-$2200 range, take a look at this Hustler and see if it will fit your needs. I'm so happy I spent just a few hundred dollars more for a faster cutting machine. It's also a whole lot more fun to drive.
Date published: 2019-09-19
  • y_2019, m_10, d_14, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_22
  • loc_en_US, sid_DASH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hustlerturf
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 110.81ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Customer Questions

Have a question about a Hustler Turf product that a Hustler owner can answer? Submit those questions via the "Ask an Owner” button below. Or, if your question is more technical-related, please send those to our Customer Service team. You can click here to submit a question directly to them.

Can you put a hitch on the Dash?

Asked by: Ferb
Dear Ferb, We do not recommend towing with any zero turn mower, however, some people do so with the larger mowers. Towing can cause premature wearing of the transmissions. Please do not put a hitch on your Dash.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-06-25

Bought 34&rdquo;and used for first time today. &nbsp;The fact that the wheels are as wide as the deck makes mowing close to fences and landscape rings difficult because wheel path doesn&rsquo;t allow deck to get right up to the edge. Can simply switch deck to 42&rdquo;?

Asked by: Rambo
Hello Anonymous. There is no such thing as simply switching the deck. It may fit the frame, but it is time consuming and costly. You should check with your dealer for options.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-06-17

How do you adjust the handle to work in harmony&nbsp;

Asked by: Ken60
Ken. Check out your Service Manual, section 4-3, figure 4-5. This should get your &quot;steered&quot; in the right direction!
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-06-13

I'm a big guy 300 lbs can it handle me driving it?

Asked by: Mark50
We do not recommend adding more than 300 lbs to the mower, including the operator. My suggestion would be to upgrade to a larger mower, such as our Raptor or Raptor SD. I believe you would be much more comfortable on a slightly larger mower. It sets up higher and has wider wheels. The RSD seat also has armrest, which can ease a long day of mowing! Thanks for asking and have fun mowing.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-08-11

Is there a weight limit on this mower. My 'friend' who needs to use it is close to 300lbs. No hills in the yard though.

Asked by: Chuck.06340
Hi Chuck. Please let your &quot;friend&quot; know that although there is no specified weight limit, we do not recommend adding more than 300 lbs to the mower, including the operator. My suggestion would be to upgrade to a larger mower, such as our Raptor SD. The total width, with the chute up is only 37.3&quot; I believe your friend would be much more comfortable on the slightly larger mower. It sets up higher and has wider wheels. The RSD seat also has armrest, which can ease a long day of mowing! Thanks for asking and have fun mowing.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-05-22

looking for a zero turn that will fit threw a standard 36 door

Asked by: Richardson
Richardson, our smallest unit is the Dash, with a 34&quot; deck. Unfortunately for what you need, the total width with the chute up is 37.5&quot;.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-05-22

Hi, Is the bagger available yet? Thanks!

Asked by: InCLE
You bet! Visit your local Authorized Dealer!
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-05-22

What residential zero turn models are offered in rear discharge

Asked by: Ranch
The Dash catcher will not fit. There is a side catcher available. Model number 939298.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-05-15

What is the cutting height range (min to max)? What are the increments? &nbsp; Trying to figure out which slot gives a roughly 2.5 in cutting height.&nbsp;

Asked by: PSU438
The adjustments are in 1/2&quot; increments.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-05-09

where can I get a mulch kit for the 34&quot; deck

Asked by: Danny5152
You can get the Dash mulch kit through any authorized Hustler dealer or through Lowe's.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-05-09

On the first oil change, do you change the filter? &nbsp;I haven&rsquo;t found the filter yet either

Asked by: The Luz
There is not an oil filer on this particular Briggs &amp; Stratton engine. Just follow the instructions on page 5-1 of your owner's manual for draining and replacing the engine oil after the first 5 hours of use.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-05-09

Where can you buy the mulch kit for the 34&rdquo; dash zero turn mower?

Asked by: Coonpup
You can get this through any authorized Hustler dealer or Lowe's.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-05-09

How well would this handle going up or down on a steep hill. Maybe 20% grade. I'm afraid to upgrade from my riding mower to a zero turn because of the hill in front yard. Is the motor strong enough?

Asked by: Arikdywayne
Arik - my first answer was incorrect - I said a 15% grade. What I meant is, we do not recommend mowing on a grade steeper than 15 degrees. My apologies.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-08-08

My husband really wants to buy this mower but there seems to be a problem in getting a bagger for it. Is there somewhere to get the bagger. Our dealer says they have not gotten one on hand as yet and we really have to have the bagger for the 34 Dash.

Asked by: Paula R
We will have baggers available soon. Please check back with your dealer. We are sorry for the inconvenience.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-04-26

How do they get enough power from a 10.5 hp motor when all mowers in it&rsquo;s class are 15-20hp.

Asked by: Heathw
Thanks for asking Heath. The Dash is a perfect package of power and speed, without wasting either. This allows for better fuel mileage and matches the deck size with ground speed to ensure you are not paying for something you may not really need. However, if you wish for more HP, we have a full line of Raptor mowers available to meet your needs.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-05-11

I lost my owner's manual, try to change the oil for my 2017 zero turn 24HP how can I download the manual ?

Asked by: Jason
Here is a link for you to our on-line manuals. https://www.hustlerturf.com/support/manuals If the link does not work - go to our site, Hustlerturf.com, click on the down arrow next to the support tab at the top of our screen, then choose Manual. Thanks for asking Jason.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-04-24

Made in the USA ??

Asked by: Mail Man
Mail Man, all of our mowers are manufactured in Hesston Kansas, USA!
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-04-22

Small fuel tank scares me. I don&rsquo;t understand why such a small tank is on this mower. That&rsquo;s my only holdup. How is the &ldquo;mileage&rdquo; on this thing?

Asked by: Fuel efficiency
The Dash was created for lawns under 3/4 acre. We do not publish mileage as this depends on speed, condition of the lawn, grass height etc. This tank size should be adequate for a normal size residential yard. Thanks for posting.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-04-15

&nbsp; Can you pull small implements like aerator or small garden trailer.&nbsp;

Asked by: J Manning no relation
We do not recommend pulling any ground engaging equipment. You can pull a small trailer with any of the residential mowers except the Dash. Please keep in mind that pulling heavy loads may shorten the life of your transmissions. Thanks for asking.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-04-15

Having issues with going forward and reverse.

Asked by: kemp
Your transaxle valves were probably left in the manual position. Refer to your owner's manual on how to engage and disengage these. They are there to make the mower easier to push when its not running.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-03-31

Opting for the 42&quot; but just ran into something that makes no sense- how can two 18&quot; blades cut 42&quot;? Is it a misprint and s/b 3 blades?

Asked by: Bob da' cutter
Bob, this question has been asked by many people. Let me try to help you. The 42&quot; is in reference to the deck size, not the blade cut. By referring to the deck size, you can make a decision on what size of mower you will need for your yard, including fitting through gates or fitting into a storage shed. With all of that being said, you can plan on a 41&quot; cut width with the circumference of blade overlap. I hope this helps!
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-03-24

I'd that the biggest deck

Asked by: Milk
The Dash comes in two deck sizes, the 34&quot; and 42&quot;. The next jump in deck sizes will be to the Raptor, which as both a 42&quot; and 52&quot;. Thanks.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-03-31

What are the engine options for the 42 inch cut&nbsp;

Asked by: Ricky 1
Hi Ricky. You can find the answer to this question and many more on our Hustlerturf.com website, just use the Compare Zero-Turns tool. The 42&quot; Dash comes with a 10 HP Brigs and Stratton engine. Hope this helps you.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-02-18

Does the 34 have a hour meter ?

Asked by: E.p..
Yes, the Dash does have a hour meter, but not like the rest of the Raptor line. It is actually hooked directly into the wiring harness, under the seat. Hope this helps.
Answered by: HT Customer Service
Date published: 2019-03-15

Did you find out how the 18&rdquo; blades can cut 41&rdquo; ? If you over lap the 2 blades it&rsquo;s goin to cut less.&nbsp;

Asked by: Donald duck

With the 34&quot; deck if I'm just mostly trimming how long will I be able to mow ? Half an hour ? An hour ? Thanks and please advise

Asked by: Scot W

I bought the Dash w/42&quot; deck but it leaves a strip down the middle.Hasit not been set-up properly from the dealer?

Asked by: ronmer77

Anyone have experience with the bagger? Does it work well or does it need to be emptied often? I have a 2.5 bushell bag on a push lawn mower currently and it does not fill well and has to be emptied more than its should/I would like.

Asked by: Evan

where can I buy a bagger for a hustler zero turn lawn mower?

Asked by: badboy

I have a small Hill, a 6 foot drop over 30'. Will this be able to handle it or is the transmission will give out after awhile?

Asked by: Chree2fer
  • y_2019, m_10, d_14, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_DASH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hustlerturf
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 107.86ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Photos

Find a Retailer
Hustler Turf Brand

© 2019 Hustler® Turf Equipment. All Rights Reserved.  |  Privacy Policy